The House Armed Services Committee (HASC) has announced the stand-up of a new bipartisan task force dedicated to providing oversight of U.S. defense capabilities and assessing the ability of U.S. industry to meet emerging threats.

HASC Chair Rep. Adam Smith (D-Wash.) and Ranking Member Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-Texas) announced the activation of the task force in an Oct. 18 press release.

HASC members Reps. Seth Moulton (D-Mass.) and Jim Banks (R-Ind.) will co-chair the task force, while other members include Reps. Susan Davis (D-Calif.), Chrissy Houlahan (D-Pa.), Elissa Slotkin (D-Mich.), Scott Desjarlais (R-Tenn.), Paul Mitchell (R-Mich.) and Michael Waltz (R-Fla.).

“HASC Committee leadership can initiate a task force to execute oversight of issues that cross multiple subcommittee jurisdictions or are deemed worthy of special attention by its Members,” the statement said. “Reps. Smith and Thornberry initiated the Future of Defense Task Force to examine the Department of Defense’s strategic priorities, capabilities and operational concepts to ensure the national security innovation base is poised to meet long-range emerging threats and the rise of global competitors.”

The task force will run for three months with the option of renewal for an additional three months. Its first hearing will take place Oct. 29 on Capitol Hill.