November 17, 2016

**The Honorable Paul Ryan** Speaker of the House 1233 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

**The Honorable Nancy Pelosi** House Minority Leader 233 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Mitch McConnell

Senate Majority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

## The Honorable Harry Reid

Senate Minority Leader 522 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Ryan, Leader McConnell, Leader Pelosi, and Leader Reid:

With the 114th Congress coming to a close, the Aerospace Industries Association (AIA) and the leaders of our member companies would like to express our strong support for efforts to pass appropriations legislation providing full year FY 17 funding for the federal government.

The aerospace and defense industry, including over 320 AIA members and our supply chain, provides 1.7 million american jobs and 13% of the nations manufacturing employment. Aerospace and defense is the manufacturing sector's leading net exporter, generating a record trade surplus of \$81 bilion in 2015. It is arguably the most successful manufacturing sector in our country and contributes significantly to our nation's economic growth, stability, and national security.

This record of success developed during a time of great uncertainty and instability in both the marketplace and with regard to annual government funding. The work we do supports one of the most innovative aspects of our economy, including maintaining our military prowess, the development of a dynamic aerospace sector and furthering space exploration. Few things could provide a greater sense of stability for our industry going forward than completing final FY 17 appropriations bills.

AIA and its member companies are greatful for your leadership which enabled completion of a multiyear reauthorization of the ExIm Bank last fall. As part of completing any FY 17 appropriations legislation, we ask you to restore the full functionality of the Export Import Bank (ExIm) by allowing the Bank to attain a quorum on its board. We strongly urge you to pass the ExIm Bank quorum provisions found in both the House and Senate versions of the FY 17 State and Foreign Operations appropriations measures.

This language would restore the Bank's ability to authorize proposed transactions over \$10 million and, as a result, quickly clear a backlog of more that 30 export sales with a total value of more than \$20 billion. Failure to act on a quorum for ExIm delays opportunities for hundreds of small and medium sized businesses in the aerospace and defense supply chain as well as the millions of people they employ.

In conclusion we ask that you support U.S. economic stability and national security by completing FY 17 appropriations bills restoring the quorum to the ExIm Bank Board.

Sincerely,

4 Mehl

David F. Melcher Lieutenant General, USA (Ret.) President & CEO Aerospace Industries Association

Markuya Hewson Chairman, AIA Chairman, President, & CEO Lockheed Martin Corporation

Dennis A. Muilenburg Vice Chairman, AIA Chairman, President & CEO The Boeing Company

Tim O. Mahones

21

Ma The

Wes Bush Chairman, President & CEO Northrop Grumman Corp.

Tim O. Mahone President & CEO Honeywell Aerospace

Michael T. Strianese Chairman, President & CEO L-3 Communications

Robert Kelly Ortberg Chairman, President & CEO Rockwell Collins

Scott C. Donnelly Chairman & CEO Textron Inc.

n

David P. Hess Sr. VP Aerospace Business Dev. United Technologies Corporation

Alt

Gerard J. **De**Muro President and CEO BAE Systems, Inc.

Robert Strain President Ball Aerospace

Alfogue

David Joyce Chairman, AIA President & CEO GE Aviation

Anne Shybunko-Moore President/Owner GSE Dynamics, Inc.

William Brown Karl Hutter

William Brown Chairman, President & CEO Harris Corporation

President & CEO Click Bond, Inc.

Aerospace Industries Association of America, Inc. 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1700 | Arlington VA 22209-3928 | 703.358.1000 | www.aia-aerospace.org

a browth browns.

Kenneth President Ausco, Enc

Aller Telesis. In c

Mul D. Koty CURIEMAN, PERSONUTI KOMMU CORPORTION PUTECEO

Pele- Hobe-Reggit USA

RICHARD M. FISHER

Slahey +CEO Rolls-Royce

PRESIDENT/COO PACIFIC DESIGN TECH.

Juan Costello microsemi Colp

Ed Feick GROUPVP PARKER AEROSPACE

74. L. Cron Vato C. Mart

DENISON INDUSTRIES

MAROTTA CONTROLS, INC.

Mark H. Cumm Vice President MTORRES AMERICA

saction Ad KPM6 LLI

Systems Mercung vp. operations-

David What

Hero-mas

Chairman

C. E.O

VIL Presiona Korp &

LMI Denspace INL.

Disnes Berelyn A

relettle

PATRICK GRUCTZMachine LAI Internation Inc CEDTPusident

Edward L. A. slander LORD Corporation (EO + President

EXECUTIVE CHAIRMAN

12224 PUP ADR ONR

sel for Jim GIBSON GREEG TERREN

V.P. Busines Davedymont Accuras Aprospace

ALLIED TELESIS. INC.

Evic V. Ruegeer President, Arconic Defense

Kolnest Mathon M ROBERT MALKANI CEO, BAEG CHAIRDAAN / CEO SOMMINIC, MA Apox AD Lite Matesonal Management Co

Director

FSprecisionTech

Iliam O. Hustin

Director, Gort Attairs

All SLSI

DANIEL J. CROWNEY DED TRIVMPH GRAP

STEPHEN STONE PRESIDENT - PRIMUS TECHNUMIC

Bloom

President Seal Science, Inc.

4:0 Longoon Pw

John Scennell MOOG Inc. Chairman & CEO

KEVIN M. SANDKUHLEN

CEO SCIS

Kirk Kronkpl Marketing PPC

CEO, VIRGIN GALACTIC & THE SPACESHIP CONPANY

SIERRA NEVADA CURP.

CFO NEO Tech

THOMAS C. GENTLEIII PRESIDENTY CED SPIRIT AEROSYSJEMS

VP - market sector Plexus

DaySMC Com Douglas McCrosson President a CEO

CPJ Acrostructures, Ful:

Tin Ellis Vie President CSC

PRES & CEO BRAM

CHAREL 5. MCGUNE President Eclustica lang

MANAGING

THE LUNDLUIST GROUP

JORROLD T. LUNDLU.ST

BRIAN CUKTIN

VP-ACD

FLEX

CFO + TREASURER

Thomas & Marotta Channen Emeritus

Marotla Controls, Inc.

WASHING TONTO RIVMATHE

Director Business Development

MOOG INC

CFO

Pervices Group Partner

SR. DIRECTOR, HCL AMERICA

PRESIDEN

GKN ATSI

Estacine Technologies Sigment President.

DUCOMMUN INCORPORATED

Nanda KumAR Group Brisident AERospace EATON

Rannferowy Jog Apoliti president and president and president Air souly lively the EMBALINUSA

Awye E. Onm TERNET + YOUNG

Director of Stees

Anth J. Reamon CHAIRMAN, PALO. J CEO Dercommun Incorpute

EPTPM Masitic

D.C.L Afichael Crown REPORATION

146-1